The CS:GO Major Championship Of 2022 Taking Place in Antwerp

While many have been preoccupied with Bizzo Casino promotions, CS:GO announced its first Major Championship of the year in 2022 that will be taking place in Antwerp, Belgium, in the Antwerps Sportpaleis venue. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, also known as CS:GO builds on the team-based first-person shooter gameplay that was introduced in the first Counter-Strike in 1999. Joining hands with the purpose of being victorious in enough rounds to win the match, two teams play in many rounds of objective-based game variants.

New maps, characters, and weaponry are included in CS:GO, as well as updated versions of classic Counter-Strike levels such as Inferno, Dust, Nuke, Train, and others. In addition, CS:GO contains online matching and Competitive Skill Groups, as well as new game types like Arms Race, Flying Scoutsman, and Wingman.
What You Need to Know
PGL will host the first Major Championship of 2022 in Antwerp, Belgium. The championship will be aired in 4k from May 9 to 22. Those who wish to attend in person may purchase tickets for the playoffs, which will take place May from 19 to 22. There is a rulebook for every competition. The tournament organizer writes the rulebook for the Majors, with Valve providing additional supplementary regulations. Those extra regulations have changed throughout time, and they have not always been easy to find for spectators or tournament organizers.
Acquiring Invites for Majors
The teams of five players that received an invitation from the most recent RMR are handed major invites. If a team employs a replacement, the five players who played in the most recent match they won are invited. Between the RMR and the Major, a team’s roster cannot be changed. They can, however, enroll a different coach or player as a substitute. There are 24 teams competing in the Major. The Legends Stage invites eight teams to compete in the Major. In the Challengers Stage, eight teams are selected as Challengers to compete in the Major. And then eight teams are invited to compete as Contenders in the Challengers Stage of the Major.

RMR invitations are granted to teams of three or more players that competed in the previous Major’s Legends Stage. If a team utilized a replacement, the five players deemed to have “played together” are the five who appeared in the team’s most recent victory.
How Regional Representations Is Implemented
How many teams from each region are invited is determined by their performance in the previous Major. The number of Legends and Challengers invites are once again distributed according to how many teams from each area won a spot in the Major. To break it down, every team from that region that advanced to the Champions stage of the previous Major receives a Legends invitation. Every team from that area that advanced to the Legends stage of the previous Major receives a Challengers invitation. Teams who gain a regional invitation have the opportunity to defend their invitation at the next RMR.

If a team is able to play in a different region and chooses to do so, their prior region loses an invitation and their new region obtains one. In other terms, teams who move to a new area keep their invitations and take them with them. Keep in mind that for RMR reasons, regions with more than eight teams will be broken into groups of eight or less, since each group can be resolved using one of the RMR forms. If a team rejects an invitation or is no longer together, the invitation is given to the next highest ranking team. If no other teams are available, a final regional qualifier will be held to fill the remaining places.

Scroll to Top